Databases

Go To Alphabetical List

Addresses & Telephone numbers 

ANYWHO.COM (website, not a database)
Search for residential and commercial addresses and phone numbers.

REFERENCE USAaccess from home
Search for residential and commercial telephone numbers and addresses; new movers; historical business records; healthcare providers; jobs and more.

 

Auto Repair & Small Engine Repair

ALLDATA  - (In-Library Use Only)    (only works in IE & Firefox)
Includes diagnostic and repair information for automobiles manufactured from 1982 to the present.

CHILTON LIBRARY - Access from home
Repair and maintenance information for automobiles from 1940 - present.

SMALL ENGINE REPAIR REFERENCE CENTER (EBSCOHost) - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
Thousands of accurate and concise step-by-step maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines and their supporting components.
Routine maintenance, as well as more extensive repairs involving engine transmission disassembly are covered.
Engines types include: motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more.

 

Biographies

BIOGRAPHY REFERENCE BANK - Access from home

 

Books / Literature / Literary Criticism

ABOUT: BOOKS - Access from home

AMERICAN AND ENGLISH FULL-TEXT LITERATURE - Access from home
A collection of electronic books of American and English literature - poetry, drama, fiction and the Bible.

LITERARY REFERENCE CENTER (EBSCOHost) - Access from home

NOVELIST PLUS (EBSCOHost) - Access from home
Find books by your favorite authors, read alikes, book discussion guides and more.

NOVELIST PLUS K-8 (EBSCOHost) - Access from home
Find books by your children's favorite authors, read alikes, book discussion guides and more.

WORLDCAT (Website, not a database)
The world's largest library catalog. Search the collections and services of over 10,000 libraries worldwide.

 

Business & Finance

ANYWHO.COM (website, not a database)
Search for residential and commercial addresses and phone numbers.

BUSINESS SOURCE PREMIER (EBSCOHost) - Access from home

MERGENT INVESTOR EDGE - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
A powerful business research tool for finding important company documents and financial information. 

MORNINGSTAR INVESTMENT RESEARCH CENTER - Access from home
Stock and mutual fund information. Find current and historical quotes; in-depth analysis; company and industry information; and financial education tutorials.

REFERENCEUSA - Access from home
Search for residential and commercial telephone numbers and addresses; new movers; historical business records; healthcare providers; jobs and more.

SMALL BUSINESS REFERENCE CENTER(EBSCOhost) - Access from home

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE U.S. - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
Numbers, numbers and more numbers.  The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics
on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

 

Consumer Reports

CONSUMER REPORTS - Access from home 

 

Controversial Issues

OPPOSING VIEWPOINTS IN CONTEXT (Gale Net) - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)

POINTS OF VIEW (EBSCOHost) - Access from home

 

Dictionaries

OXFORD REFERENCE - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
To log in from home: click on "sign in", then enter your card number in the "sign in with your library card" box.

 

Driver's Education

OHIO DRIVER'S EDUCATION - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
2019 Ohio BMV Handbooks and practice tests for: Cars, Motorcycles and CDL.

 

Education & Job / Career

ANYWHO.COM (website, not a database)
Search for residential and commercial addresses and phone numbers.

GALE COURSES - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
Gale Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online. 
Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month. 
These courses are available at no cost for Morley Library Card holders. 

Lynda.com - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
If you have a card from another Ohio public library, then you must log in to Lynda.com through that library's website.
Online instructor led video courses.  
These courses are available at no cost for Morley Library Card holders

LAKE COUNTY, OHIO OHIO MEANS JOBS EMPLOYMENT AND TRAINING - (website, not a dtatabase)

OHIO MEANS JOBS - PRACTICE TESTS AND TUTORIALS - (website, not a database)
Education and job skills.

REFERENCEUSA - Access from home
Search for residential and commercial telephone numbers and addresses; new movers; historical business records; healthcare providers; jobs and more.

 

Encyclopedias

GALE VIRTUAL REFERENCE LIBRARY - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
Includes: arts, biography, business, education, environment, history, law, medicine, multicultural studies, nation &  world, religion, science, and social science.

OXFORD REFERENCE - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
To log in from home: click on "sign in", then enter your card number in the "sign in with your library card" box.

OXFORD RESEARCH ENCYCLOPEDIAS - Access from home

VERY SHORT INTRODUCTIONS (Oxford Press) - Access from home

WORLD BOOK - Access from home
A great place to visit for an introduction to a topic of interest or reliable facts for a report.

 

Español

WORLD BOOK SPANISH - Access from home
A great place to visit for an introduction to a topic of interest or reliable facts for a report.

 

Genealogy

AFRICAN AMERICAN HERITAGE - Access from home

ANCESTRY - LIBRARY EDITION - (In-Library Use Only)
Formed through a partnership between Proquest and MyFamily.com, this collection of 4,000 individual databases includes the U. S. Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930.

CLEVELAND NECROLOGY FILE (Cleveland Public Library Website)
An index to obituaries the appeared in The Cleveland Plain Dealer, The Cleveland Herald and The Cleveland Press.
This does not provide full text access to the obituaries.  The link doe include information about how to get a copy of an obituary.

CLEVELAND NEWS INDEX (Cleveland Public Library Website)
An index to local news stories, feature articles and reviews from the following sources: The Cleveland Plain Dealer, Cleveland Magazine, Northern Ohio Live, Ohio Magazine.
This does not provide full text access to the articles. The link does include information about how to get copies of an article.

FAMILY SEARCH - (In-Library Use Only)
To access create your free account: username and password.
As Morley Library is a FamilySearch Affiliate Library, using FamilySearch from within the library provides access to 350+ million images not available when accessing the FamilySearch website from outside of an affiliate library. 

FOLD3 - Access from home

HERITAGE QUEST ONLINEAccess from home (might not work with Google Chrome)

SANBORN FIRE INSURANCE MAPS- Access from home

 

Geography

SANBORN FIRE INSURANCE MAPS - Access from home

 

Government

CQ RESEARCHER - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
When logging in from home, deactivate "Pop-Up Blockers".
Explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics include, but are not limited to: teen issues, the environment, health, education, science and technology.

CONGRESS.GOV - (website, not a database) 
From the library of Congress, this is the official website for U. S. Federal Legislative information: such as, how to contact a Representative or Congressmen; voting records; current and past bills: how the legislative process works and more.  

OHIO.GOV - (Website, not a database)
The official website for the State of Ohio. Find the government information and services you need to live, work, travel, and do business in the state.

OHIO LEGISLATURE (Website, not a database)
Information about Ohio House and Senate, legislation and more.

OHIO MEANS JOBS (Website, not a database)
State website for searching for: educational scholarships; online training; employment programs; occupations; and jobs. 

OHIO REVISED CODE (Website, not a database)
The general laws of the State of Ohio.

OHIO SUPREME COURT (Website, not a database)
Information about the Ohio Supreme Court and the Ohio Judicial System. 
Domestic and Juvenile standardized forms.
 

Grants

FOUNDATION CENTER ONLINE PROFESSIONAL - (In-Library Use Only)
From The Foundation Center, a unique database of 80,000 grant makers, half a million grants, and 250,000 searchable 990s.

FOUNDATION GRANTS FOR INDIVIDUALS - (In-Library Use Only)
From The Foundation Center, an online database of more than 6,200 foundation and public charity programs that fund students, artists, researchers, and other individual grant seekers.

 

Health

CONSUMER HEALTH COMPLETE (EBSCOHost) - Access from home

THE LAKE COUNTY SOCIAL ISOLATION AND LONLINESS INITIATIVE (hChoices - website, not a database)
Facts & Figures Up to 50% of those 60+ are at risk of social isolation.  
Take advantage of our FREE events and services available at the senior centers, libraries, and online.

LAKE COUNTY GENERAL HEALTH DISTRICT (website, not a database)

MEDLINE PLUS (website, not a database)
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine / National Institutes of Health.

 

History

DAILY LIFE THROUGH HISTORY - (In Library Use Only)
From Greenwood Electronic Media, Daily Life Through History is an online sourcebook series providing a detailed portrayal of what life was like for ordinary people in different cultures throughout history.  Includes images, maps and illustrations.


Hobbies & Crafts

HOBBIES & CRAFTS REFERENCE CENTER (EBSCOhost) - Access from home

 

Home Improvement

HOME IMPROVEMENT REFERENCE CENTER (EBSCOhost) - Access from home

 

Kids

EXPLORA PRIMARY (EBSCOHost) - Access from home

KIDS INFOBITS (Gale Cengage) - Access from home

NOVELIST K-8  (EBSCOHost) - Access from home

WORLD BOOK EARLY WORLD OF LEARNING - Access from home

WORLD BOOK KIDS - Access from home

 

Lake County Services

211 LAKE COUNTY LifeLine (Website)

 

Language

ROSETTA STONE - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
To use with the Rosetta Stone Languages app on a smartphone or tablet:
You must use your web browser (and the "access from home" link above) to log in.
Once you click "Launch Rosetta Stone® Language Lessons Version 3," it will launch using the app.

TRANSPARENT LANGUAGES - Access from home

 

Legal forms

GALE LEGAL FORMS - Access from home

LAKE COUNTY OHIO - Clerk of Courts legal forms (website, not a database)

OHIO REVISED CODE (website, not a database)
The general laws of the State of Ohio.

OHIO SUPREME COURT - Domestic Relations forms (website, not a database)

 

Magazine & Journal articles

EBSCOHOST - Access from home
Choose MasterFILE Premier if you need magazine articles. 
Academic Search Premier may be a good place to start a search for journal articles.

 

Price Guide

NADA Used Manufactured Housing Price Guide - (In-Library use only)
See Librarian for username and password.

 

Research

EBSCOHOST - Access from home
M
agazine and journal articles.

EXPLORA SECONDARY (EBSCOHost) - Access from home

 

Science

SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER (EBSCOHost) - Access from home

 

Statistics

STATISTICAL ABSTRACT OF THE U.S. - Access from home (Morley Library Cardholders)
Numbers, numbers and more numbers.  The ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics 
on the social, political and economic conditions of the United States.

 

Ohio Web Library

OHIO WEB LIBRARY - Access from home
Provided to Ohio libraries by OPLIN, the Ohio Public Library Information Network, this database Includes:
encyclopedias; dictionaries; magazine, journal and newspaper articles; information about  Ohio and more.