Adult Programs

Register for programs at the Reference Desk, on the 3rd floor, or call Morley Library at 440-352-3383. To register online, simply click on the date and time of the program, then fill out the form completely. Thank you!

See upcoming Special Events!

Teens (and parents) - see our Teen Events page!

 

August Programs:

 

Library Book Club at Concord Community Center

Thursday, August 16, 2018

Killers of the Flower Moon: the Osage Murders and the Birth of the FBI, by David Grann.

In the 1920s, the richest people per capita in the world were members of the Osage Nation in Oklahoma. After oil was discovered beneath their land, the Osage rode in chauffeured automobiles, built mansions, and sent their children to study in Europe. Then, one by one, the Osage began to be killed off. The family of an Osage woman, Mollie Burkhart, became a prime target. One of her relatives was shot. Another was poisoned. And it was just the beginning, as more and more Osage were dying under mysterious circumstances, and many of those who dared to investigate the killings were themselves murdered. As the death toll rose, the newly created FBI took up the case, and the young director, J. Edgar Hoover, turned to a former Texas Ranger named Tom White to try to unravel the mystery. White put together an undercover team, including a Native American agent who infiltrated the region, and together with the Osage began to expose one of the most chilling conspiracies in American history.

The Library Book Club is hosted by Concord Township, Morley Library and Mentor Library. Travis Fortney of Mentor Library & Louise Kloss of Morley Library are facilitating the group. The libraries provide the books which may be signed out at the Concord Community Center. Additional copies may be found at either library. To reserve a copy for pick up at Morley Library, call (440) 352-3383. To reserve a copy for pick up at Mentor Library, call (440) 255-8811. Try it out for the discussion, camaraderie and refreshments.

Registration not required.

Thursday, August 16, 7:00 PM at the Concord Community Center

 

Scribble Maniacs - Writers Group

Saturday, August 18, 2018

Whether you're just getting started or a lifelong writer, join us for support, encouragement, and friendly critique, commentary, and tips on achieving your writing goals.

Registration not required.

Saturday, August 18, 10:00 AM to noon in the Activity Room

 

Computer Class

Monday, August 20, 2018

Come with any questions you have about Windows 10, the Internet, or other computer matters.

Please register.

Monday, August 20, 10:00 AM in the Classroom

 

Mystery Book Discussion Group

Monday, August 27, 2018

This month's selection is Trouble Comes to Town by AnnMarie Cleversey.

Registration not required.

Monday, August 27, 10:00 AM in the Activity Room

 

September Programs:

 

September is Library Card Sign-Up Month!

September 1st through the 30th

Celebrate Library Card Sign-Up month with us! Adults can participate in our "How Well Dewey-You Know Your Library?" scavenger hunt, between September 1-September 15, for a small prize. Show us your new (or old) library card to enter the raffle to win a $25 Barnes & Noble gift card (one entry per person). See a Librarian at the Reference desk on the 3rd floor for assistance.

 

Monday, September 3rd - Morley Library will be closed for Labor Day

 

Adult Craft of the Month - Paint Night with Ariel Inspired

Wednesday, September 5, 2018

It's time for another great paint night with Ariel Inspired! We're going to try painting flowers on wine glasses this month.

Please register.

Wednesday, September 5, 6:30 PM in Meeting Room B

 

Tai Chi Thursday

Thursday, September 6, 2018

De-stress and relax with Libby Hill, from Family Karate. The class is free and will last for 30 minutes.

Registration not required.

Thursday, September 6, 12:00 PM in the Activity Room

 

Computer Class

Monday, September 10, 2018

Come with any questions you have about Windows 10, the Internet, or other computer matters.

Please register.

Monday, September 10, 10:00 AM in the Classroom

 

Movie Night - Avengers: Infinity War

Monday, September 10, 2018

Iron Man, Thor, the Hulk and the rest of the Avengers unite to battle their most powerful enemy yet -- the evil Thanos. On a mission to collect all six Infinity Stones, Thanos plans to use the artifacts to inflict his twisted will on reality. The fate of the planet and existence itself has never been more uncertain as everything the Avengers have fought for has led up to this moment.

Rated PG-13

2 hours and 40 minutes

Registration not required.

Monday, September 10, 6:00 PM in the Activity Room

 

Tuesday Afternoon Book Discussion

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

This month's book is Everything I Never Told You by Celest Ng.

Registration not required.

Tuesday, September 11, 2:00 PM in the Board Room

 

Nature's Way Journaling

Tuesday, September 11, 2018

Relax, reflect, and write about the various seasons of your life in this inspiring, guided audio/visual-journaling experience for a multi-generational audience. We ask that you please register, however walk-ins are welcome if space is available. Please bring your own journal, pen, or laptop.

Please register.

Tuesday, September 11, 6:30 PM in the Activity Room

 

Wednesday Evening Book Discussion

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

This month's book is The Sound of Gravel by Ruth Warnier.

Registration not required.

Wednesday, September 12, 7:00 PM in the Board Room

 

Scribble Maniacs - Writers Group

Saturday, September 15, 2018

Whether you're just getting started or a lifelong writer, join us for support, encouragement, and friendly critique, commentary, and tips on achieving your writing goals.

Registration not required.

Saturday, September 15, 10:00 AM to noon in the Activity Room

 

Meet the Author: Mary Doria Russell

Saturday, September 15, 2018

Widely praised for meticulous research, fine prose, and the compelling narrative drive of her stories, Mary Doria Russell is the award-winning author of six bestselling novels, including the science fiction classics The Sparrow and Children of God; the World War II thriller, A Thread of Grace; and a political romance set in 1921 Cairo called Dreamers of the Day. With her latest novels, Doc and Epitaph, Russell has redefined two towering figures of the American West: the lawman Wyatt Earp and the dental surgeon Doc Holliday. Coming soon, her novel Unremembered Lives tells the story of the young union organizer Annie Clements, who was once known as America’s Joan of Arc.

Mary holds a Ph.D. in biological anthropology from the University of Michigan and taught anatomy at the Case Western Reserve University School of Dentistry. She and Don Russell have been happily married for an unusually high percentage of the years since 1970. They have one son and live in Cleveland, Ohio. Books will be available for purchase and signing. Presented with the support of the Friends of Morley Library.

Registration not required.

Saturday, September 15, 3:00 PM in Meeting Room A

 

Comedy Workshop with Jerry Jaffe

Monday, September 17, 2018

Join Jerry Jaffe, a professor at Lake Erie College and comedian extraordinaire, as he guides us through the basics of comedy, improv, and creating your own brand of humor. Performing regularly at Toth's Place in Mentor and touring throughout the Midwest, Jerry will share his knowledge of the skills and strategies needed to begin your own comedy adventure.

Registration not required.

Monday, September 17, 6:00 PM in the combined Meeting Rooms

 

Tai Chi Thursday

Thursday, September 20, 2018

De-stress and relax with Libby Hill, from Family Karate. The class is free and will last for 30 minutes.

Registration not required.

Thursday, September 20, 12:00 PM in the Activity Room

 

Library Book Club at Concord Community Center

Thursday, September 20, 2018

The World We Found, by Thrity Umrigar.

Thrity Umrigar, acclaimed author of The Space Between Us and The Weight of Heaven, returns with a breathtaking new novel—a skillfully wrought, emotionally resonant story of four women and the indelible friendship they share. Fans of Jennifer Haigh’s Faith, Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies, and Katrina Kittle’s The Kindness of Strangers will be captivated by Umrigar’s The World We Found—a moving story of bottled secrets, unfulfilled dreams, and the acceptance that can still lead to redemption, from a writer whom the New York Times calls “perceptive and often piercing.”

The Library Book Club is hosted by Concord Township, Morley Library and Mentor Library. Travis Fortney of Mentor Library & Louise Kloss of Morley Library are facilitating the group. The libraries provide the books which may be signed out at the Concord Community Center. Additional copies may be found at either library. To reserve a copy for pick up at Morley Library, call (440) 352-3383. To reserve a copy for pick up at Mentor Library, call (440) 255-8811. Try it out for the discussion, camaraderie and refreshments.

Registration not required.

Thursday, September 20, 7:00 PM at the Concord Community Center

 

Mystery Book Discussion Group

Monday, September 24, 2018

This month's selection is Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land.

Registration not required.

Monday, September 24, 10:00 AM in the Activity Room

 

Reel Talk: Book into Film Discussion Group

Monday, September 24, 2018

This month's selection is The Circle by Dave Eggers.

Registration not required.

Monday, September 24, 2:45 PM in the Activity Room

 

Music for Relaxation - Library Tuesdays at Concord Community Center

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Presented by: Lucille Cimino and Laura Lucas, Music Therapists from Sound Insirations

Join us for a moment of mindfulness as we learn about and experience using music to enhance relaxation and meditation. Take away ideas of how you can do this on your own. No musical skills required! This event is designed to enhance our health through our connections to music. The facilitator is a nationally Board Certified Music Therapist.

Please register with the staff at The Concord Community Center (440) 639-4650

Tuesday, September 25, 10:00 AM at the Concord Community Center

 

Computer Class

Tuesday, September 25, 2018

Come with any questions you have about Windows 10, the Internet, or other computer matters.

Please register.

Tuesday, September 25, 7:00 PM in the Classroom

 

Publishing - Ins and Outs

Saturday, September 29, 2018

What are the various ways that an author can get published? What can you realistically expect when working with a publisher? Author David A. Duryea is here to provide insight into "The Ins and Outs" involved in publishing your manuscript.

Please register.

Saturday, September 29, 10:00 AM in the Activity Room

 

Hatter's Tea Party

Saturday, September 29, 2018

Celebrate the end of Library Card Sign-Up Month at our Madhatter Tea Party! Wear your best hat or Wonderland-inspired costume for a chance to win great prizes. Enjoy snacks, music, and a few fun games with friends. There will be lots of giveaways and, of course, an assortment of teas! Best of all, it's FREE!!!

*Children ages 12 and older are welcome to attend with an adult. Please register as a group or call for assistance.

Please register.

Saturday, September 29, 12:30 PM in the combined Meeting Rooms

 

 

 

 

Libraries Transform