Recent Releases - Library Reads

Top ten books published this month
August 2021
“Low on job prospects, fashion school grad Cindy moves in with her stepmom, a reality show producer. When a spot opens up in the Bachelor-style series, Cindy seizes the chance to get nationwide exposure for her designs. The last thing she expects is to find love. A Cinderella-inspired romance with a plus-sized heroine and a multicultural cast. For fans of Red, White, & Royal BlueThe Hating Game, and Dumplin’.”

Eva Thompson, Metropolitan Library System, Oklahoma City, OK
NoveList read-alike: One to Watch by Kate Stayman-London
 
 
Battle Royal: A Novel
by Lucy Parker

“Sylvie and Dominic met during a baking competition when her unicorn cake kicked him in the face. Now they’re both in the running to bake the royal wedding cake. A slow burn, enemies-to-lovers romance with witty banter and fantastic secondary characters. For fans of 99 Percent Mine and The Ex Talk.

Laura Eckert, Clermont County Public Library, Milford, OH
NoveList read-alike: Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake by Alexis Hall
 
Dark Roads: A Novel
by Chevy Stevens

“Stevens often writes about the outdoors, but this one is really steeped in survival. Vanishing travelers and serial murders along a wilderness highway bring the sister of one victim to town for a memorial. There are the requisite fast-paced thrills, and a small town packed with secrets and fear. For fans of The River and A Gathering of Secrets.”

Cari Dubiel, Twinsburg Public Library, Twinsburg, OH
NoveList read-alike: Survive the Night by Riley Sager
 
The Last Chance Library
by Freya Sampson

“June is stuck. After her mom dies, she continues to live quietly in her mother’s house and work in the library where her mother worked. When the library is threatened, she finds a new purpose, saving it and finding so much more. This one is full of heart, humor, and love of literature. For fans of The Authenticity Project and How To Find Love in a Bookshop.”

Shari Suarez, Genesee District Library-Johnson Branch, Genesee, MI
NoveList read-alike: The Library at the Edge of the World by Felicity Hayes-McCoy
 
Mrs. March: A Novel
by Virginia Feito

“Mrs. March has a lovely apartment, a famous author husband, and a life of luxury. Her husband's new novel features an unlikeable, sordid woman. Mrs. March is horrified when people assume the character is based on her. Her stability fractures, and the reader is caught between paranoia and reality. An excellent character study for fans of Tangerine and The Other Typist.”

Sandra Heitzman, Forest Park Public Library, Forest Park, IL
NoveList read-alike: The Wife by Alafair Burke
 
My Heart Is a Chainsaw
by Stephen Graham Jones

“Jade's convinced her passion for slasher films is not obsession, but preparation. When strange things start occurring in town, she’s sure a massacre is imminent -- and she’s ready to play her role to perfection. A highly stylized delight for horror movie buffs and fans of The Final Girl Support Group.”

Sharon Layburn, South Huntington Public Library, Huntington Station, NY
NoveList read-alike: Final Girls by Riley Sager
 
The Reading List: A Novel
by Sara Nisha Adams

“A list of recommended classics helps a widower spark a friendship with a teen librarian dealing with overwhelming family issues. An uplifting tearjerker about libraries and the books that touch our soul. For fans of Ellie and the Harpmaker and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.”

Kimberly McGee, Lake Travis Public Library, Austin, TX
NoveList read-alike: The Missing Treasures of Amy Ashton by Eleanor Ray
 
The Royals Next Door
by Karina Halle

“After a prince and princess move to her British Columbia town, a local teacher falls for their grumpy bodyguard. This charming romantic comedy is unexpectedly moving and features deep and layered characters. Perfect for fans of The Royal We and Royal Holiday.”

Janet Schneider, Peninsula Public Library, Lawrence, NY
NoveList read-alike: Incense and Sensibility by Sonali Dev
 
A Slow Fire Burning: A Novel
by Paula Hawkins

“A brutal crime is committed on a London houseboat, and numerous friends, family, neighbors, and lovers seem to have a motive for the fatal stabbing. As the number of suspects grows, the lies begin to unravel in what promises to be a hit summer read. For fans of Shari Lapena and Mary Kubica.”

KC Davis, Fairfield Woods Library, Fairfield, CT
NoveList read-alike: Dark Tide by Elizabeth Haynes
 
Yours Cheerfully: A Novel
by A. J. Pearce

“Fans of Dear Mrs. Bird will cheer Emmy Lake’s return as a young advice columnist in wartime London. A chance meeting leads to Emmy visiting a munitions factory where she learns about the struggles of the women working there. A wonderful, well-told story for fans of Lissa Evans and Jojo Moyes.”

Brenda O'Brien, Woodridge Public Library, Woodridge, IL
NoveList read-alike: The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer L. Ryan
Find more great reading recommendations in NoveList!